Mediterranean peppers

These Mediterranean style stuffed peppers were super easy to prepare and can be an excellent option as a meal or a side. I looked the recipe up on the internet but then didn’t really stick to any one particularly, just improvised with whatever stuff I had in my fridge.

Ingredients:

  • Bell peppers – any color, deseeded and halved.
  • Olives – I used the bottled variety but fresh might be even better.
  • Feta cheese, crumbled.
  • Cherry tomatoes – quartered.
  • Couscous – fluffed up with hot water & a pinch of salt.
  • Lemon, juiced.
  • Herbs – your choice.
  • Spices – per taste.

So, I mixed all the ingredients (apart from the peppers) in a big bowl and adjusted the salt & spices according to my taste. The bell peppers were halved and, as I read in some of the recipes, I microwaved them for about 5 mins on high, just to soften them slightly. Next step was to fill the couscous-feta-etc-etc-mixture into the pepper ‘cups’. I kinda pressed the mixture in and filled the peppers as much as I could. Then all I had to do was bake the peppers in a preheated oven for about 30 mins at 200 degrees C. Check in 30min, and you could leave them in for longer if you feel the peppers are still tough. Must say, this turned out to be quite a successful experiment!

Of course, from what I gathered through my internet search is that the beauty of the recipe is that you can play with the filling as much as you like. My next try will be giving it a Mexican taste with beans, rice and some kind of mince meat, hmmmm!!

One thought on “Mediterranean peppers

Let's get talking!

