Kladdkaka for the perfect Fika

Kladdkaka, a simple yet deliciously gooey chocolate cake is one of the most popular desserts in Sweden. I’d say it is one of the more obvious choices for a fika, the traditional Swedish coffee break. According to an article published earlier this year, Sweden is the third biggest coffee consumer in the world. A fika is thus, quite a part of everyday life here. However, since people these days are more conscious of their sugar consumption, desserts are sort of reserved for the more relaxed Friday fikas. Last week I felt quite adventurous in the kitchen and baked my first kladdkaka. I followed this straightforward recipe, serving it up with some berries and ice-cream. And at the cost of appearing smug, let me just say it turned out quite yum 😉

6 thoughts on “Kladdkaka for the perfect Fika

  1. Well done! I have to admit I’ve baked kladdkaka perhaps once or twice only, but I have eaten it many, many times! Indeed, it’s a classic for a Swedish fika (next to the regular kanelbulle, of course!). Delicious post! 🙂

    Like

Let's get talking!

