Goodreads challenge : You’re halfway there!

A few months ago I showed my readers the books I read last year. Keeping up my reading tradition, I set myself a new reading challenge this year. I raised the goal to 18 books this year, which means I upped it by 20% for good measure. 😉 It’s mid-July, I have met the halfway mark and I am well into my 10th read. Feels great to be on track, right?

Here’s what I have been up to the past few months, in the order that I picked them up (hmm, I notice those thumbnails appear in the reverse order, but doesn’t really matter):

  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, first published in 1953, talks about an imaginary, desolate future world. Part sci-fi, part prophetic, it is an interesting read.

  • Monical Ali’s Brick Lane follows the story of a pair of sisters from Bangladesh and the different paths either of them takes through life.
  • The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson, is a sinister tale of four unlikely people that come together to explore the nature of a so-called haunted house. Not as scary as I had hope it would be.
  • The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman is an amusing set of short stories from the world of newspaper journalism. What I especially liked was the way the tales were intertwined together to make it more of a novella than disjointed stories.

  • P.G. Wodehouse’s Piccadilly Jim was one of my favorite reads this year. Superbly funny and witty, a comedy of errors and mistaken identities. You can take a look at my review of the book, posted a few weeks ago.
  • From Heaven Lake is a non-fictional work by Vikram Seth, a travelogue of his hitch-hiking journey from Heaven Lake in Xinjiang, north-west China to Delhi, via Tibet and Nepal. A beautiful account of the geography, people & cultures that he encounters along the way.
  • Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn’s mystery revolving around story of a man & his wife who goes missing on their fifth wedding anniversary; and how their marriage has changed them over the course of those five years years. Quite dark and a very compelling read. I watched the movie afterward, but in my opinion it didn’t do justice to the text.
  • The Bone Vault is written by Linda Fairstein, who served as head of the sex crimes unit of the Manhattan District Attorney’s office for more than 25 years. However, I did not much prefer her work as an author. Too hollywood-style for my taste.

Have you read any of these titles? I’d love to know what you thought about them. What other  books have been keeping you busy?

11 thoughts on “Goodreads challenge : You’re halfway there!

  1. The Edgar Allan Poe was one of my youthful favourites; the Ray Bradbury is equally impressive – an observation on social control to rival 1984; Brick Lane is a delightful insight into the struggles between immigrant generations.

    Like

    • Hey D, I’m thrilled you have read so many of these! It’s always so interesting to hear what other readers have to about the same books.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love reading and I’m always keeping an eye out for reading lists like this and checking if there’s anything that might interest me… I already wrote down Piccadilly Jim and From Heaven Lake so thanks for the tips! 🙂 I saw the movie Fahrenheit 451 as a kid and actualy just thought about the movie the other day…

    Like

  3. Great to know you too are an avid reader!! Same here…but am little bit too choosy about my books…Just finished reading two great novels, ‘Chanakya Chant- Ashwin Sanghi’ and ‘The Lost Symbol-Dan Brown’…

    And of course, love your collection too… 🙂

    Like

  4. Halfway through, good job! I think the only one there I’ve read is The Haunting of Hill House, years and years ago and had pretty much the same reaction. It wasn’t scary, or haunting and not memorable. From Heaven Lake looks very interesting. I will check out that one! Always enjoy a good book post! Thanks for sharing your list~

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Book haul | Sunny District

  6. Pingback: 2015 reading challenge | Sunny District

Let's get talking!

