The Book Thief

People observe the colors of a day only at its beginnings and ends, but to me it’s quite clear that a day merges through a multitude of shades and intonations with each passing moment. A single hour can consist of thousands of different colors. Waxy yellows, cloud-spot blues. Murky darkness. In my line of work, I make it a point to notice them.

Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief is a poignant tale of childhood in Nazi Germany. Narrated by Death, a very very unusual voice, the story follows Liesel Meminger from being given up for foster care, to starting to love her new family, making new friends, saving a life, and ultimately losing it all during the bombing of Munich during World War II. And it all weaves through the little girl’s curiosity and hunger for books and words. I admit, reading the book made me a little teary-eyed at times. And yet, it is not a constant reminder of the pain of those days, on the contrary it speaks about how there is happiness to be found in the toughest times and from the most meager means. The book is a heartening story of love, friendship, trust and hope. A book I am sure I will remember for a long time.

On a side-note, have you played that listing-favorite-books-and-tagging-friends game that was all the rage a few weeks ago on Facebook?

12 thoughts on “The Book Thief

  1. Pingback: Book Thief, The | Manzoor's thoughts

    • Hey Chrissie, the movie is still on my list. Good to know it was made well, coz sometimes the movie disappoints me when they don’t do justice to the book…

      Like

  2. I’ve been meaning to read this book for so long and haven’t gotten around to it yet.
    I’m currently reading The Vacationers/Fellowship of the Ring on my morning commutes, but this will likely be soon in my queue!

    -E @ amie-eo.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Hey Neha! The movie is on my to-watch list, but you and many others have said good things about it, so I look forward to it, too.

      Like

  3. Pingback: 2014 favorites | Sunny District

  4. Looks like an interesting book.Stories set up in war times teach us a lot . I’ve a similar book seating on my son’s bookshelf, he refused to read it because according to him ‘it’s sad’. I think I’ll pick it up and read it 🙂

    Like

Let's get talking!

